The Shadow and Bone Trilogy

In anticipation of Leigh Bardugo’s newest Grishaverse book, King of Scars, I decided to reread the trilogy that started it all. (I’ll also be reading Six of Crows, Crooked Kingdom, and The Language of Thorns.) Instead of writing full reviews of each book in the Shadow and Bone Trilogy, I decided that three mini-reviews would be best.

SPOILER WARNING: I’ve tried to make these reviews as non-spoilery as possible, but if you haven’t read these books and wish to remain completely, 100% unspoiled, proceed with caution! 😬

sabShadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

This book is a good start to the series. It introduces us to the main characters, handles a ton of world-building, and sets things into motion for the second and third books. That being said, I don’t think I enjoyed it as much as I did the first time I read it. 🤔 Knowing that Alina and Mal both change by the end of the series, I was a little more patient. But I can see a first-time reader feeling frustrated — or even bored — by both of them. One of the most interesting characters is the Darkling. (I also have a weakness for ancient, magical men with dark pasts and villainous tendencies. 😂) This book does utilize some well-known YA tropes; Alina is the “chosen one,” and there’s definitely a love triangle. I do think, however, that Bardugo uses them in interesting ways. 

RATING: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

sasSiege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo

This is my favorite of the three books. The pacing is impeccable, we get the perfection that is Sturmhond, and the ending… WHEW. There’s a scene that, even now, still gives me chills. 🖤 (For those who’ve read this book, I’m talking about pg. 418-422.) This book has some serious momentum, and there never seems to be a dull moment. It’s honestly hard to write about it without spoiling some major plot points, but you can expect high seas adventure, secret identities, witty banter, bad decisions (SO MANY OF THEM), hope, pain, and wanting to start the next book immediately after you finish this one. And did I mention Sturmhond? We are truly blessed by his literary existence. 😍

RATING: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

rarRuin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo

While Siege and Storm has impeccable pacing, this book seems to drag on and on… We spend so much time in the White Cathedral (nearly 20% of the book!) and, later, the Sikurzoi. But then the final battle seemed to happen so quickly. 😐 I do like the ending more than I did when I first read this book. I will warn you — it might feel like this book repeatedly rips your heart out and throws it across the room. Don’t worry. This is normal. 😫 I’m still curious about what the trilogy would have looked like if Alina had given in and agreed to rule alongside the Darkling. (I know, I know. He’s undeniably monstrous. But just look at this fan art. Look at it and join me in the pit of despair.) Also, Baghra and Nikolai’s bickering is the fantasy buddy cop movie I never knew I wanted.

RATING: ⭐️⭐️⭐️

January Mini-Reviews

mmiycMatch Me If You Can by Tiana Smith

This book deals with lots of secrets. And while it doesn’t have online dating, it does have an online matchmaking service… for high schoolers! I related to Mia in many ways. She’s struggling to figure out what — and who — she wants, worrying about the school newspaper and her college aspirations, and… well, she’s pretty awkward. It sometimes felt like I was looking in a mirror. (Or like my seventeen-year-old self was looking in a mirror. That was a loooooong time ago. 😅)

While I realize that Mia and her friends are still in high school, I still found many of their actions to be overly-dramatic and not very believable. (Her exchanges with Elena? WHEW. I felt like I was watching Riverdale — and not in a good way.) Some small things become big things, and some big things — like Mia logging into Robyn’s email account behind her back to send Vince fake matchmaking results — seem to just… not matter all that much. And seriously, why does Mia keep calling Vince “genuine”? He only asks her to homecoming because of the email she sends — not because he has any feelings for her. Maybe I’m biased since I thought she and Logan had great romantic tension right from the start.

I stand by what I said in my January TBR — I would definitely recommend this book to fans of Jenny Han’s To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before and Sandhya Menon’s From Twinkle, With Love. And anyone who enjoys modern-day Shakespeare adaptations would likely enjoy seeing how Smith wrote her own take on A Midsummer Night’s Dream.

Note: Thank you to Macmillan and NetGalley for providing me with an eARC in exchange for an honest review.

RATING: ⭐️⭐️⭐️

mfhnsMy Favorite Half-Night Stand by Christina Lauren

This book checked all the boxes for me. Friends-to-lovers trope? Check. Online dating, with lots of emailing back and forth? (I’m a sucker for a good epistolary romance.) Check. Complex, hilarious, and memorable characters? Check. And the main character, Millie, is an expert on female serial killers! She’s also a self-proclaimed “Level Five Hot Mess,” but watching her learn from her mistakes and grow as a person… *chef’s kiss*

But as much as I enjoyed this book, there were times when I became frustrated with all the secrets. Millie and Reid keep the fact that they had sex a secret from their friends. Millie keeps pretty much her entire life a secret from her friends. Then she creates her “Catherine” dating profile and keeps her true identity a secret from Reid. And the list goes on and on. I don’t usually have a problem with secrets, but there came a point when I was practically shaking the book, shouting, “JUST COME OUT AND SAY IT!” (It probably didn’t help that I was reading Match Me If You Can — another book that’s full of secrets — at the same time.)

That being said, this book was an absolute delight. ❤️ The alternating POVs work well, the dialogue is perfect, and the ending will leave you feeling warm and fuzzy inside. I would recommend this to fans of Christina Lauren’s other books, especially Josh and Hazel’s Guide to Not Dating. And if you’re a fan of My Favorite Murder, you’ll likely find yourself wishing you could be BFFs with Millie.

RATING: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

sasSense and Sensibility by Jane Austen

Having never read Sense and Sensibility — or even watched an adaptation — I wasn’t sure what to expect. But I was pleasantly surprised, and even though it took some time for me to become invested in the story, I quickly became eager to find out what would happen to Marianne and Elinor.

I would definitely call it a romantic comedy, for the most part. The characters are all so dynamic and well-written — I fell head over heels for the Dashwood girls, who, while very different, are complementary heroines. 😊 There were some slower parts, and I initially felt a little disoriented. (It’s been a while since I’ve read any Austen, though.) But the humor, the complexity of the characters, and the suspense kept me reading. If, like me, you’ve only ever read Pride and Prejudice, I think you’ll find that this book is similar in all the best ways.

RATING: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

needThe Need by Helen Phillips
Release Date: July 9th, 2019

I don’t usually gravitate toward thrillers — mostly because I’m easily scared. But I couldn’t resist the bizarre premise of this book: Molly, a paleobotanist and mother, is at home with her two children when she hears footsteps in the other room. While this is happening, you learn that the fossil quarry she’s been digging in has yielded some puzzling finds, including a controversial Bible that draws unwanted — and, at times, frightening — attention from tourists. What happens next is unnerving, mind-bending, and psychologically harrowing.

I liked that this book was a thriller that also functioned as an introspection on what it means to be a mother. We see Molly struggle, and there’s nothing held back. Her love for her children is complicated and messy and fierce, and it is the beating heart of this book. The pacing was superb, mostly because of the short chapters. They built a momentum that kept me reading until late at night, unable tear myself away. The big reveal wasn’t too surprising; the author drops several hints before it’s actually confirmed. And there were a few other things that I wish had been a little less predictable. I anticipate the ending dividing some readers, since it’s one of those endings that doesn’t entirely feel like an ending. 🤔

In some ways, this book reminds me of Michael Rutger’s The Anomaly, Thomas Pierce’s The Afterlives, and even Jeff VanderMeer’s Annihilation. It’s the kind of story that blurs reality just enough that you’ll be left looking at the world around you in a different way long after you’ve turned the last page.

Note: Thank you to Simon & Schuster and NetGalley for providing me with an eARC in exchange for an honest review.

RATING: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

January TBR

January TBR

My Favorite Half-Night Stand by Christina Lauren
After reading Josh and Hazel’s Guide to Not Dating and Roomies, I’m excited to check out Christina Lauren’s latest book. It sounds fun and sexy, with some friends-to-lovers romance and guaranteed online dating hijinks.

Match Me If You Can by Tiana Smith
I was lucky enough to receive an eARC of this book, and it sounds perfect for fans of To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before and From Twinkle, With Love. It’s a YA contemporary retelling of Shakespeare’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream. Early reviews promise sweet fluffiness and relatable characters — and have you seen the adorable cover? Talk about swoon-worthy! 😊

The Cruel PrinceThe Wicked King by Holly Black
I really enjoyed reading The Cruel Prince last year, and while I feel like I still remember most of it, I’m going to reread it before moving on to the sequel. I’ve been seeing lots of positive reviews of The Wicked King — as well as some non-spoilery OMFG tweets confirming that some crazy shit goes down in this book.

The Shadow and Bone Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo
I’m going to try to reread Shadow and BoneSiege and Storm, and Ruin and Rising as well as read Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom for the first time — before I jump into King of Scars. It’s been a while since I’ve read this trilogy, so I’m curious to see how I feel about it now.

Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen
I haven’t read much Jane Austen, so I decided to join the #ArdentlyAustenBookClub readalong on Instagram. It’s hosted by @alchemyandink and @paperbackbones, and the goal is to read one Austen book every month through July. You can find more info here!

What books are you planning to read this month? Leave a comment and let me know!