April TBR

April TBR

Aurora Rising by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff
I was not expecting to receive an eARC of this book, and I’m still a little shocked that I did. 😱 Aurora Rising is one of my most anticipated reads of the year, and I’ve been eagerly awaiting it ever since I finished Obsidio — the third and final book in Kaufman and Kristoff’s Illuminae Files series. (FYI: If you pre-order Aurora Rising and fill out this form, you’ll receive an exclusive Illuminae Files novella!)

The Devouring Gray by Christine Lynn Herman
Even though spring is finally here, I’m always in the mood for a dark and monstrous story. Herman’s debut novel promises an eerie, close-knit town, teenagers with otherworldly powers, and a beast lurking in the woods, trapped in what is known as “the Gray.” And if that doesn’t lure you in, maybe the spook-tastic cover will.

Josh and Hazel’s Guide to Not Dating by Christina Lauren + The Kiss Quotient by Helen Hoang
Whenever I’m feeling especially anxious, I try to revisit favorite books — especially feel-good romances. Last year, I fell head over heels in love with both Josh and Hazel’s Guide to Not Dating and The Kiss Quotient. And now that I’m in desperate need of a pick-me-up, I think it’s time for some rereads. ❤️

Aru Shah and the End of Time + Aru Shah and the Song of Death by Roshani Chokshi
Aru Shah and the End of Time completely exceeded my expectations, so I’m excited to see what Aru and Mini are up to in the sequel, Aru Shah and the Song of Death. There’s magical thievery, zombies, new friends, unexpected enemies, and… maybe even a middle school dance! I’m sure Aru is thrilled. 😂

March TBR

March TBR

Wicked Saints by Emily A. Duncan
I finished reading this book today, and I think my tweet says it all:

Be on the lookout for a review next week! 😁🖤

The Cruel Prince + The Wicked King by Holly Black
I meant to read these books back in January, but I was too busy with my Grishaverse read-a-thon. Click here to read about them in my January TBR!

The Gilded Wolves by Roshani Chokshi
I’ve heard amazing things about this book, and the setting alone — Paris during La Belle Époque — is making me swoon. There are secret societies, treasure hunters, and tons of historical fantasy goodness. The concept of a group of misfits joining forces to achieve a common goal reminds me (in a good way) of Leigh Bardugo’s Six of Crows. And the cover is deliciously decadent. 😊

The Priory of the Orange Tree by Samantha Shannon
IT’S FINALLY HERE! I almost can’t believe that this book is finally in my hands — or at least on my Kindle, which is in my hands. 😜 I’m a huge fan of Shannon’s The Bone Season, and I’m excited to read her standalone epic fantasy, which is full of magic, mayhem, and dragons. Basically, it’s 800+ pages of my very favorite things.

The Bathhouse at Midnight: An Historical Survey of Magic and Divination in Russia by W.F. Ryan
As someone who has become fascinated with Russian folklore and history, I decided to indulge my academic curiosity and request this book through interlibrary loan. I think it’s a perfect follow-up to both my Grishaverse read-a-thon and Wicked Saints.

NOTE: You may have noticed that there’s no Jane Austen book on this list. After much consideration, I’ve decided to take a break from the #ArdentlyAustenBookClub readalong and focus on getting through some of my highly-anticipated reads.

What books are you planning to read this month? Leave a comment and let me know! 😀

February TBR

february tbr

Six of Crows + Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo
I’ve already started reading Six of Crows, and I can hardly put it down. IT’S SO GOOD. Definitely one of those books that I wish I had read sooner. (Let’s just ignore the fact that it’s been sitting on my bookshelf for over two years… 😅) And I can honestly say that I love every single one of the Dregs. But I’ve heard that Crooked Kingdom will devastate me, so I’m enjoying my happiness while it lasts.

The Language of Thorns by Leigh Bardugo
This book has everything I love — a gorgeous cover (and illustrations that change as you read each story), Leigh Bardugo’s magical writing, and fairy tales and folklore from the Grishaverse. This collection includes “The Too-Clever Fox,” which will be perfect to read before finally diving into King of Scars. (Nikolaaaaai. ❤️)

King of Scars by Leigh Bardugo
This is one of my most anticipated reads of the year, and it has taken all of my willpower to set it aside until I’ve finished my Grishaverse read-a-thon. 🙃 I’ve avoided synopses, comments, reactions, spoilers… Everything. But I’m ecstatic that our favorite mischievous king is getting his own duology! And I’m excited to see where this story will take him.

Wicked Saints by Emily A. Duncan
Another of my most anticipated reads of the year, this book sounds beautiful and dark — like, really dark. (MY FAVORITE KIND. 😈) And I was lucky enough to win an ARC in a giveaway! Roshani Chokshi said on Goodreads, “This book is for everyone who shipped Alina and The Darkling,” so… *cough* I have a feeling I’m going to really like it… 🖤 As an added bonus, the author — whose tweets bring me much joy — is also from Northeast Ohio!

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
I haven’t read this book since high school, so I’m curious to see what I’ll think of it 10+ years later. I’m positive I’ll still be Team Elizabeth Bennet, but will I swoon over Mr. Darcy? 🤔 (Fun Fact: In high school, I was less interested in Mr. Darcy than I was in Jane Eyre‘s brooding Mr. Rochester. This probably tells you a lot about me as a person.) This is the February pick for the #ArdentlyAustenBookClub readalong on Instagram. You can find more info here!

What will you be reading this month? Anything romantic? 😉 Let me know below!

January TBR

January TBR

My Favorite Half-Night Stand by Christina Lauren
After reading Josh and Hazel’s Guide to Not Dating and Roomies, I’m excited to check out Christina Lauren’s latest book. It sounds fun and sexy, with some friends-to-lovers romance and guaranteed online dating hijinks.

Match Me If You Can by Tiana Smith
I was lucky enough to receive an eARC of this book, and it sounds perfect for fans of To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before and From Twinkle, With Love. It’s a YA contemporary retelling of Shakespeare’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream. Early reviews promise sweet fluffiness and relatable characters — and have you seen the adorable cover? Talk about swoon-worthy! 😊

The Cruel PrinceThe Wicked King by Holly Black
I really enjoyed reading The Cruel Prince last year, and while I feel like I still remember most of it, I’m going to reread it before moving on to the sequel. I’ve been seeing lots of positive reviews of The Wicked King — as well as some non-spoilery OMFG tweets confirming that some crazy shit goes down in this book.

The Shadow and Bone Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo
I’m going to try to reread Shadow and BoneSiege and Storm, and Ruin and Rising as well as read Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom for the first time — before I jump into King of Scars. It’s been a while since I’ve read this trilogy, so I’m curious to see how I feel about it now.

Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen
I haven’t read much Jane Austen, so I decided to join the #ArdentlyAustenBookClub readalong on Instagram. It’s hosted by @alchemyandink and @paperbackbones, and the goal is to read one Austen book every month through July. You can find more info here!

What books are you planning to read this month? Leave a comment and let me know!