About

Hello

I review both new books and not-so-new books. If you have any suggestions for books I should read, click here.

I am currently accepting books for review. For more information on review inquiries, click here.

Q&A

What’s your name?
Rebecca

How old are you?
27

Where do you live?
I live in Northeast Ohio with my husband, Matt. We currently live in an eighth floor-apartment. It’s within walking distance of the library, as well as one of our favorite bars. (Both are pretty important, tbh.)

When did you join bookstagram?
February 2017

Do you have a theme?
Not really. Or at least not intentionally. If you look at my feed, you’ll probably notice that I use a lot of the same props in my photos, like flowers and candles. When I need a backdrop, I sometimes pick an item of clothing, like a scarf or sweater, or I just use my dining room table. My photos are usually colorful, and I mostly take flat lays. I definitely have a “comfort zone” when it comes to photos, but I’ve never thought of it as a theme.

Do you plan your posts ahead of time?
I try! I look at monthly challenges, choose one or two, and then write out each day’s challenge. I jot down some ideas. Usually just a book title and a couple of props that might work well. But some days (and even some months!), I’m just not feeling it, and I end up doing something completely different.

Do you post every day?
I would like to… but no. I skip days here and there. I used to apologize for it and feel a little guilty. But I’ve learned that it’s good to take a step back and focus on other things, and you never need to apologize if you’re taking some time for yourself!

What made you decide to start a blog?
I’ve always thought about writing book and merch reviews, but I assumed I’d never have time. (TL;DR: I was a college instructor for four years, and having to take my work home with me pretty much every night left me with very little time to myself.) When I started a new job with normal, more consistent hours, I figured I would give it a shot.

What are some random facts about you?
I can’t do a cartwheel. I hate mustard and mayonnaise, but I could probably eat tacos for every single meal, forever and ever. My husband and I have Batman wedding bands. I’m afraid of giant spiders, heights, and dying in outer space.* I’m an only child. When I was younger, I was convinced I was a Gryffindor, but I’ve finally accepted my true Hufflepuff/Ravenclaw (or, Huffleclaw) nature. I make Moscow Mules like nobody’s business. And this one time, I made a flower crown. It was rad.

IMG_5870

*I realize this is an irrational fear that will (likely) never come to pass.